MENU

You are here

3-manifolds

Lecturer: 
Course Type: 
PhD Course
Academic Year: 
2020-2021
Period: 
October-December
Duration: 
60 h
Description: 

Topics to be covered:

1. Surfaces and their fundamental groups.
2. Mapping class groups and Dehn twists.
3. Constructions of 3-manifolds.
4. Heegard splittings.
5. Fundamental groups of 3-manifolds.
6. JSJ decomposition.
7. Prime decomposition.
8. Dehn's lemma and the sphere theorem.

Location: 
A-136
Next Lectures: 
Wednesday, October 28, 2020 - 11:00 to 13:00
Friday, October 30, 2020 - 11:00 to 13:00
Monday, November 2, 2020 - 14:00 to 16:00
Wednesday, November 4, 2020 - 11:00 to 13:00
Friday, November 6, 2020 - 11:00 to 13:00
Monday, November 9, 2020 - 14:00 to 16:00
Wednesday, November 11, 2020 - 11:00 to 13:00
Friday, November 13, 2020 - 11:00 to 13:00
Monday, November 16, 2020 - 14:00 to 16:00
Wednesday, November 18, 2020 - 11:00 to 13:00
Friday, November 20, 2020 - 11:00 to 13:00
Monday, November 23, 2020 - 14:00 to 16:00
Wednesday, November 25, 2020 - 11:00 to 13:00
Friday, November 27, 2020 - 11:00 to 13:00
Monday, November 30, 2020 - 14:00 to 16:00
Wednesday, December 2, 2020 - 11:00 to 13:00
Friday, December 4, 2020 - 11:00 to 13:00
Monday, December 7, 2020 - 14:00 to 16:00
Wednesday, December 9, 2020 - 11:00 to 13:00
Friday, December 11, 2020 - 11:00 to 13:00
Monday, December 14, 2020 - 14:00 to 16:00
Wednesday, December 16, 2020 - 11:00 to 13:00

Sign in