MENU

You are here

Gamma-convergence

Lecturer: 
Course Type: 
PhD Course
Academic Year: 
2020-2021
Period: 
October - February
Duration: 
60 h
Description: 

Direct methods in the calculus of variations:

  • semicontinuity and convexity,
  • coerciveness and reflexivity,
  • relaxation and minimizing sequences,
  • properties of integral functionals.

Gamma-convergence:

  • definition and elementary properties,
  • convergence of minima and of minimizers,
  • sequential characterization of Gamma-limits,
  • Gamma-convergence in metric spaces and Yosida transform,
  • Gamma-convergence of quadratic functionals.

G-convergence:

  • abstract definition,
  • connection with Gamma-convergence,
  • convergence of eigenvalues and eigenvectors.

The localization method for Gamma-convergence:

  • Increasing set functions and their regularizations,
  • measures, fundamental estimate for subadditivity,
  • integral representation of Gamma-limits,
  • compactness of elliptic operators with respect to G-convergence,
  • homogenization problems for convex integral functionals,
  • homogenization of elliptic operators.
Location: 
TBC(to be checked)
Location: 
Online (Zoom) until 3/12; A-134 else
Next Lectures: 
Tuesday, January 19, 2021 - 08:30 to 10:30
Thursday, January 21, 2021 - 08:30 to 10:30
Tuesday, January 26, 2021 - 08:30 to 10:30
Thursday, January 28, 2021 - 08:30 to 10:30
Tuesday, February 2, 2021 - 08:30 to 10:30
Thursday, February 4, 2021 - 08:30 to 10:30
Tuesday, February 9, 2021 - 08:30 to 10:30
Thursday, February 11, 2021 - 08:30 to 10:30
Tuesday, February 16, 2021 - 08:30 to 10:30
Thursday, February 18, 2021 - 08:30 to 10:30

Sign in