You are here

Mathematical Analysis, Modelling, and Applications

The activity in mathematical analysis is mainly focussed on ordinary and partial differential equations, on dynamical systems, on the calculus of variations, and on control theory. Connections of these topics with differential geometry are also developed.The activity in mathematical modelling is oriented to subjects for which the main technical tools come from mathematical analysis. The present themes are multiscale analysismechanics of materialsmicromagneticsmodelling of biological systems, and problems related to control theory.The applications of mathematics developed in this course are related to the numerical analysis of partial differential equations and of control problems. This activity is organized in collaboration with MathLab for the study of problems coming from the real world, from industrial applications, and from complex systems.

The Antonio Ambrosetti Medal

The Antonio Ambrosetti medal is awarded in memory of Antonio Ambrosetti, who was one of the first three Professors at SISSA since the foundation of the School in 1980, then appointed Professor at Scuola Normale Superiore in the years 1986-1998,  and subsequently again Professor at SISSA since 1998 to 2012. The Medal is awarded by SISSA, with the support of Scuola Normale   Superiore, Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei, Unione Matematica Italiana (UMI). Antonio Ambrosetti made several groundbreaking contributions to mathematical analysis, ranging from critical point theory, variational and topological methods, bifurcation theory, with applications in Hamiltonian systems and geometry. He is one of the founders with Giovanni Prodi of the Italian school of nonlinear analysis, with far-reaching influences in various areas of Mathematics. Simple and powerful geometric ideas standing at the basis of his approach allowed remarkable, and sometimes unexpected developments with numerous applications in differential equations. The medal recognizes exceptionally promising young researchers who have already made outstanding contributions to the fields of nonlinear analysis.

The Ambrosetti medal will be awarded every two years starting from 2021.

The statutes of the Antonio Ambrosetti medal can be found here. The information on the procedure, deadlines and other regulations is listed here.

Nominations must be sent to no later than 30.08.2021 


Sign in